2021 Honest BoxyCharm Review – Is it Worth It?

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Then check out my honest BoxyCharm Review where I share my full thoughts on BoxyCharm, whether or not it’s worth it, and how you can subscribe!

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

*This post contains affiliate links and has been updated to reflect 2021 pricing

Honest BoxyCharm Review- Is it Worth It?

Happy Monday, friends! Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve probably heard of BoxyCharm by now. In case you haven’t though, today I’m excited to be sharing a full post all about BoxyCharm including what it is, how much it costs, and my honest boxyCharm review with whether or not I think it’s worth subscribing to.

I recently had the privilege of trying out BoxyCharm for the first time and today I’m sharing all the makeup and beauty goodies that I received in the June 2018 Caribbean Queen Box.

If you’ve never tried BoxyCharm but have always wondered whether or not it’s worth the money to subscribe, then keep reading below for my full and honest BoxyCharm review-is it worth it? 

If you want to see monthly BoxyCharm unboxings, make sure you follow me on Instagram here

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Honest BoxyCharm Review- Is It Worth It?

 

How BoxyCharm Works

For those new to the world of BoxyCharm, it is a monthly beauty subscription box sent straight to your door. Each box contains 5 full-size beauty products, including makeup, skincare items, beauty tools, hair and nail products, and more.

In terms of value, each box always contains products valued at a minimum of $125, but as you’ll see in my full review below, boxes often contain products with an even higher value.

Each BoxyCharm contains products from either popular, well-known beauty brands or rising brands, and always have products that fit perfectly with current makeup and beauty trends. Past boxes have included items from brands such as MAC, Colourpop, Tarte, and IT Cosmetics just to name a few!

Below I’ve included a few of my favorite boxes to date.

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

How Much Does BoxyCharm Cost?

BoxyCharm offers 4 affordable subscription options including a monthly, quarterly, bi-annual, and annual subscription. Each subscription renews automatically, but you can conveniently cancel at anytime, with zero fees.

As you can see below, the annual subscription offers the overall best value with a savings of $21 versus the monthly subscription, but even the monthly subscription is still an amazing deal!

  • Monthly- $25/month*
  • 3 Month Subscription- $23.33/month*
  • 6 Month Subscription- $23/month*
  • 12 Month Subscription- $22.92/month* – Best Value with 12 Boxes for the Price of 11!

In addition to the regular BoxyCharm subscription options above, BoxyCharm now offers a BoxyCharm Premium box and a BoxyLuxe box, which I’ve outlined below.

BoxyCharm Premium

Comes with 6-7 full-size beauty products with choice of 1 item every month. The cost is $35 with free shipping in the U.S. There is currently a waitlist for this box, but you can sign up here.

BoxyLuxe

This is an upgrade option to regular BoxyCharm and is a hand curated, full size, luxury brand box sent to you every 3 months with products ranging from lifestyle, skincare, and of course beauty. Each box is valued at over $275 for just $24.99 in addition to your existing BoxyCharm subscription.

This box is only offered to subscribed charmers and offers the flexibility of choosing what products you want and getting exclusive, early access to products. FYI  – After receiving a few of these boxes now I definitely think it’s worth the upgrade!

*Prices have been updated to reflect 2021 prices

 

Charm Rewards

Another great incentive for BoxyCharm subscribers is their Charm Rewards loyalty program. Currently charms can be earned through referrals and through reviewing the BoxyCharm boxes on their website. Each charm earned is worth $1 and can be used to redeem amazing makeup and beauty products.

Charmers also receive exclusive discounts on beauty brands with every box and gain access to an amazing social media community of makeup and beauty lovers.

 

Is It Worth It?

All in all when you compare how much BoxyCharm costs ($25/month) versus the price of the items you receive ($125+) the value is truly unbeatable and it’s definitely worth it!

With BoxyCharm you are receiving high-quality beauty items for less than or around $5 each and you get to try out items from both new and popular brands. It’s pretty much a no-brainer in my book.

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Honest BoxyCharm Review- June 2018 Caribbean Queen

First off, as someone who has never tried out any beauty subscription boxes, I must say I was super impressed with the contents in the June 2018 BoxyCharm. I’ll be the first to admit I’ve always been somewhat skeptical of monthly subscription boxes because you might get a box full of items you hate and will never use, but leave it to BoxyCharm to completely change my mind.

Not only did I love every single item I received in my BoxyCharm but when comparing the amount of money I would have spent buying each item individually versus the cost of the subscription box, it’s such a great deal! (And you guys know I’m all about saving money and getting the most bang for my buck!)

Plus, I truly love being able to try out products from both new and popular beauty brands that I normally might not ever pick up because of the individual price point.

For reference, this month’s Caribbean Queen box ended up containing 6 items at a total MSRP value of $134, making this box an incredible steal. It also had 6 makeup/beauty items from brands that I’ve never tried, which is awesome!

BoxyCharm June 2018 Caribbean Queen

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Luxie- 3 Piece Flawless Complexion Brushes

The first items in the box were these gorgeous brushes– perfect for applying both powder and liquid foundations. The set came with a tapered highlighter brush, precision foundation brush, and a duo fibre powder brush.

I just tried this out the other day and I especially love the highlighting brush and the precision foundation brush paired with my fave IT Cosmetics CC+ Cream, gave my skin the most flawless, buffed-out finish. Plus, who doesn’t love rose gold brushes?

You’ll Also Love: The Ultimate Makeup Brush Guide

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Alamar- Reina Del Caribe Eyeshadow Palette

Next up in the box was this stunning palette from Alamar Cosmetics. The tropical colors are so fun and I’m in love with the beautiful shimmer shadows. Although I’m unsure if eyeshadow palettes are normally included in BoxyCharms, this was such a nice treat and once again going back to the overall value, it’s amazing for what you’re paying.

Although I had heard of Alamar Cosmetics, I hadn’t yet tried out any of their palettes. I can honestly say I’m now definitely a fan and will be trying out more of their items. The pigmentation and color payoff in this palette is amazing and I can’t wait to create some gorgeous summer looks with this eyeshadow palette!

Check out the complete swatches in the photos below.

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview  Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Jonteblu- Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil in Charcoal

This eyeliner pencil had a nice and creamy texture that glides easily on the undereye area, and the gray color is super versatile. This was a brand I hadn’t previously tried and I love the cute packaging.

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Ofra- Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick in Verona

Another brand that I’ve been meaning to try but hadn’t yet is Ofra and I’ve always thought their lip products are so pretty. This liquid lipstick in the shade Verona is gorgeous and is a great nude shade that works well year-round.

You can find a ton of lip shades from Ofra over here at Ulta.

Related: Buxom Va-Va Plump Shiny Liquid Lipsticks Review

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Sol De Janeiro- Brazilian Bum Bum Cream

Next up is the Brazilian Bum Bum Cream from Sol De Janeiro and you guys- this smells heavenly! When I shared this in an unboxing on my Instagram, so many of you messaged me telling me it was your favorite, which I love.

This is the perfect product to buy for swimsuit season to smooth and tighten and this cream really does feel great on the skin!

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview  Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Battington- Monroe Silk Lashes

Last but not least are the Monroe Silk Lashes from Battington. I personally don’t wear a lot of falsies because I was fortunately blessed with long lashes, but I tried these on the other day and they’re super pretty.

These lashes are multi-layered and add a beautiful amount of volume and length without being over the top, and they’re a lot better quality than some of the drugstore lashes I’ve tried in the past.

Made with 100% silk, they can be used up to 25 times.

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Final Thoughts on BoxyCharm – Do I Recommend It?

All in all, I would say this BoxyCharm was a total win and if you were to ask me whether or not it’s worth it, my answer is 110% YES! I think it’s great for both makeup lovers like me who love to try out products from new brands, but I also think it’s perfect for beginners who are looking for product recommendations.

Plus, again, the value really is unbeatable here, and if you really break it down and think about it- you’re getting high quality beauty products for less than what you’d pay at the drugstore. I mean how amazing is that?!


That about wraps up today’s post with my Honest BoxyCharm Review! I hope this helped any of you who were on the fence with whether or not BoxyCharm is worth it and that I helped clear up any questions you had. Have you ever tried BoxyCharm? Let me know in the comments below.

 

Thanks for stopping by! – Cara

 

Save This Post For Later

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

Curious about a BoxyCharm subscription? Wondering if the monthly BoxyCharm subscription is worth it? Check out my honest Boxycharm review with all the makeup, skincare, and beauty products in my most recent box, plus everything to know about the Boxycharm beauty subscription box. #boxycharm #subscriptionbox #makeupreview #beautyreview 

 

Leave a Comment

 

39 Comments

  1. Carolyn Smith wrote:

    I am a woman in my 60s is this still ok for her

    Posted 10.14.19 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Yes, this subscription box is good for any age! 🙂

      Posted 10.16.19 Reply
  2. Erv wrote:

    I got an ad for Ipsy on this lol

    Posted 10.7.19 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Gotta love the irony, right?! haha Thanks for reading the post! 🙂

      Posted 10.8.19 Reply
      • Vanessa wrote:

        What is your referral code? I would like to sign up but don’t know anybody that uses boxycharm. I found your post useful so I would like to use your referral ☺️

        Posted 3.5.20 Reply
  3. Lysander Byerly wrote:

    Ordered for six months for my granddaughter. I’m a 72 year old male and know nothing about makeup – except that most females enjoy it and it can be a thing of beauty. My granddaughter loves it and plans to continue it.
    Problem, however. My intent was to give the six month deal for her to try; not to continue it forever. I have a thing against auto withdrawals from my account. I told them such in my original order.
    The other day I checked my checking accounts and was surprised to find the $124+ charge pending. Immediately contacted them and was requested to send them multiple sorts of info for them to discontinue. I sent the info. Several hours later (I had been watching a movie) I checked again and they had pulled the shargenthriufh. Now a full day gone and I have heard nothing from them on the previous contact nor the note I sent about an hour ago.
    While this may be a good deal it shows once again that once you give a company access to anybif your funding you are playing with fire and they have the matches.
    Guess I’ll need to contact my bank tomorrow. Just a darn shame that a company that seems to provide a good product at a good price wants to play lime someone who can’t taks “No” or “Stop” for their answer.

    Posted 6.3.19 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Glad to hear your granddaughter enjoyed her BoxyCharm! Sorry to hear about your experience- a lot of companies are like that nowadays with auto withdrawal. I always try to set reminders on my phone or calendar to cancel before that happens, as it tends to make things easier than dealing with customer service/refunds. Hopefully you’re able to get it resolved quickly!

      Posted 6.8.19 Reply
  4. Alisa wrote:

    I tried them based on your review and I”m so mad at them. This scam service billed me for my first box and then sent me my 2nd box TWO DAYS LATER!!! I cancelled the day I received my first box because it was ALL makeup and no skin-care products. I thought there would be a mix. But that is OK–they can pretend to take your preferences into account and then send all eye make up (which is what they did–two months of firggin eye make-up–who needs that much eye make up?) but to bill me for my 2nd box two days later is outrageous. Just ridiculous. You need to have a chance to decide if it is for you. I think they are scam artists and I would stay far far away.

    Posted 4.24.19 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Oh no, sorry to hear that Alisa. I would definitely contact the billing department and see what they could do. So far most of the boxes I’ve received have been mostly makeup as well. I agree that it should be a mix and they should consider your preferences. Hope you get it sorted out! 🙂

      Posted 4.24.19 Reply
      • Alisa wrote:

        I did contact the billing department and they said because I signed up on March 30th, they automatically billed me a 2nd box on April 1st, and they wouldn’t allow me to return a box. (They also ignored the first email I sent and took 5 days to respond to the 2nd email.)

        Posted 4.24.19 Reply
  5. Nadine wrote:

    I hadn’t heard of this box before. I was getting the Allure box for a few years and after the first year, I was sort of disappointed with them because I felt they kept sending me the same 10 or so brands. I love that you are getting so many different, and full size products in this one. I cant wait to see what is in your July box! I love the bum bum cream, those brushes are gorgeous.

    Posted 7.11.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      That’s the one thing I will be keeping an eye out for, as I’m like you I don’t want to be sent the same products over and over. But from everything I’ve heard they send new items each month, so I’m excited to see what the August box has in it. 🙂

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  6. Sami | The Classic Brunette wrote:

    I love Boxycharm! I just got into their subscription again and have been loving the items from these past two boxes!

    xo
    Sami
    The Classic Brunette

    Posted 7.11.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Yay, so glad to hear you’re a fan of Boxycharm too!

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  7. Erica @ Coming Up Roses wrote:

    WOW – legit sounds worth it!!! That’s awesome value in one box!

    Posted 7.10.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      I was so pleasantly surprised. Boxycharm is definitely worth it in my book.

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  8. Tanya Dufour wrote:

    I have been subbed to Boxy Charm for almost 2 years. Its totally worth the $21.00 even when there are items I don’t love its still such an amazing value. June’s box was one of my favorites to date!

    Posted 7.10.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Yay, I’m so glad to hear you’re a fan of Boxycharm too! June has been my favorite month so far, but I’m excited to see what is in the August box. 🙂

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  9. Sara wrote:

    I would say it was worth it for the make up brushes alone! Those are so expensive!! It looks like you got some great products out of it for sure though!

    Posted 7.9.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      I agree! Makeup brushes can be so pricey, and these are really pretty with the rose gold handles.

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  10. Lisa | amerytina wrote:

    I love BoxyCharm and enjoy their boxes every month! But, can you believe I wasn’t aware of the rewards?? So glad I came across your post!

    Posted 7.9.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Oh, I’m so glad to have helped! The rewards are definitely a huge perk!

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  11. Rebecca @ Strength and Sunshine wrote:

    Looks like a fabulous selection!

    Posted 7.9.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Thanks, I’m glad I tried it out!

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  12. Lily wrote:

    I’ve been getting Boxycharm for awhile now and it’s TOTALLY worth it!

    Posted 7.9.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Glad to hear you love it too! I was so impressed.

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  13. Marette Flora wrote:

    I like those makeup brushes! And I’ve heard good things about the Brazilian Bum Bum Cream. I need to try it! I haven’t tried a beauty subscription box either, but I always enjoy Kathleen Lights’ videos on them.

    Posted 7.9.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Aren’t those so pretty? I love anything rose gold. I was so pleasantly surprised that I ended up liking Boxycharm and I’m excited to continue to see what each monthly box has in it.

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  14. Ashley Stephenson wrote:

    I have never heard of this subscription! I will definitely be checking it out! I love the colors you got for the eye shadow!

    Posted 7.9.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      That eyeshadow palette is so gorgeous. It’s definitely a great subscription box and well worth it.

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  15. Karly wrote:

    I’ve never tried a subscription box either, and this one looks so good! You definitely got some great products at a great value. Thanks for your honest review!

    Posted 7.9.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      The June box was amazing! It’s worth it if you like to try out new products.

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  16. Chelsea wrote:

    It looks adorable! I’ve actually never tried a subscription box…..I’m such a penny pincher! lol!

    Posted 7.9.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Me too girl, but I was surprisingly impressed with this!

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply
  17. Ruth Ridley wrote:

    So affordable and practical! Something every girl could use!!

    Posted 7.9.18 Reply
    • Kindly Unspoken wrote:

      Agreed and this box was full of so many nice products.

      Posted 7.31.18 Reply